Strategic Plan Steering Committee Expands to 21 Members

When work on Sul Ross State University’s strategic plan started in earnest back in August, 2016, it had 13 dedicated members (see The work now has reached the point that we are generating ‘strategies’ to support the plan’s goals and objectives.

The increasing volume of work meant  the steering committee had to expand to 21 members to cover more aspects of the university community. Most of the new members came on board as chairs of subcommittee’s working on specific areas of the plan.

Those 21 committee members are:

Dr. Bonnie Warnock, Professor of Natural Resource Management, CHAIR*
Ms. April Aultman Becker, Dean, Libraries and Research Technologies
Ms. Gail Collier, Director of Human Resources*
Dr. James (Jay) Downing, Dean of Arts and Sciences
Mr. Dave Gibson, Chief Information Officer, Office of Information Technology
Dr. Bibi Gutierrez, Assistant Professor of Psychology
Dr. Sharon Hileman, Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Dr. Robert (Rob) Kinucan, Dean, College of Agriculture & Natural Resource Sciences
Ms. Danielle Lucero, SGA President*
Ms. Aida Luevanos, Director of Alumni Relations*
Ms. Mary Beth Marks, Vice President for Enrollment Management
Ms. Marilyn McGhee, Director of Sponsored Programs
Ms. Kara O’Shaughnessy, Admin. Asst./Database Manager, External Affairs*
Ms. Liz Pena, Director of the Small Business Development Center, Rio Grande College
Dr. Jenny Penland, Director of Experiential Learning
Dr. Jeanne Qvarnstrom, Asst. Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
Ms. Yvonne Realivasquez, Director of Administration*
Ms. Martha Serrano, Admin. Coordinator, Physical Plant Operations*
Dr. Gina Stocks, Asst. Professor of Education, Rio Grande College
Dr. Mary Elizabeth Thompson, Assistant Professor of Music
Dr. Joseph (Joey) Velasco, Associate Professor of Communication and President, Faculty Assembly

*SRSU Alumni

Please feel free to contact anyone on the list with comments and ideas in the process. Or post your questions / comments / ideas using the “Leave a comment” link on this page. A new blog policy keeps your name confidential unless you give us permission to use it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *