Report on Diversity and Inclusion

The following is posted in the interest of transparency and with the intention of improving the environment and climate of Sul Ross State University for students, staff, and faculty:

In April 2018, the Diversity and Inclusion Committee endorsed and submitted the following “Report on Diversity and Inclusion–An Inquiry into its Importance in Higher Education, its Status at Sul Ross State University, and Recommended Strategies for Achieving Institutional Success,” by Dr. Savannah L. Williamson. As of the date of this post, the report has been distributed to members of the University Executive Committee. The Diversity and Inclusion Committee is waiting to be put on the E.C. agenda to discuss the Report and its recommendations.

The pdf of the final report is available through the following link:

Final Report on Diversity and Inclusion

Any questions, comments, concerns, or recommendations may be submitted directly to Dr. Williamson or to the Diversity & Inclusion Committee through

-Savannah L. Williamson, Ph.D.

Chair, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Assistant Professor of History


Diversity and Inclusion Committee

RESPONSIBILITIES: The committee is charged with developing recommendations related to diversity and inclusion issues, including developing appropriate institutional responses to specific diversity and inclusion issues and:
1. Develop and implement introductory and ongoing cultural competency training for all students, faculty, and staff
2. Bridge the University with the Alpine, greater Big Bend, and Trans-Pecos communities to promote community-engaged scholarship by fostering education, outreach, and awareness
3. Assess, evaluate, and advocate for cultural inclusivity and diversity initiatives on campus, including the provision of a regular open forum for students, faculty, and staff
4. Review institutional communications, policies, and procedures actively promoting diversity and inclusion using best practices
5. Ensure a safe, welcoming community climate that values a culture of inclusivity including, but not limited to, ability, age, national origin, religious beliefs, ethnicity, race, gender, social economic status, sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression

Committee shall consist of a no more than nine (9) members and up to four ex officio members, for a maximum of thirteen (13) members on the committee. Membership shall include three (3) representatives from the faculty, with one representative from each college; two (2) representatives from the staff; one (1) athletic program representative; one (1) student representative; one (1) community representative; and one (1) member to be appointed by the University President.
The ex officio members should represent the following areas: Assistant Director of Residential Living, Director of Counseling and Accessibility Services, Title IX Coordinator, and the Dean of Student Life.

TERM: Two-year tenure for faculty and two-year staff appointments, with up to two-year appointments for the student representative(s), and a one-year appointment for the community representative. Initial memberships will be staggered two-year or three-year terms.

• Nominated by voting members of the committee.

Jamie Boyd, Assistant Professor, ANRS 2-year term
Liza Ware, Lecturer, EPS 3-year term
Savannah L. Williamson, Assistant Professor of History, A&S 3-year term, Chair

Suyu Dong, Systems and Discovery Services Librarian 3-year term
Dominique Vargas, Director, McNair Scholars Program 2-year term

Student Representative(s):
Valeria Chavira, Student Representative 1-year term
Vince Apodaca, Alternate Student Representative 1-year term

Ex-Officio Members:
Melissa Rodriguez, Assistant Director of Residential Living
Mary Schwartze, Director of Counseling and Accessibility Services
Yvonne Realivasquez, Title IX Coordinator
Leo Dominguez, Dean of Student Life